CUPE4163 Executive

CUPE4163 Staff

The University of Victoria Educational Employees’ Union (CUPE Local 4163) represents approximately 1500 members. Together, CUPE 4163 members perform more than two thirds of the instruction at the University of Victoria. The local is made up of three “components” with separate Collective Agreement language :

Component One: Teaching Assistants, Lab Instructors, Computer Lab assistants, and Academic Assistants

Component Two: Second Language Instructors in the English Language Centre and French language Programme, and Cultural Assistants

Component Three: Continuing Instructors, Sessional Instructors (aka “Sessional Lecturers”), and Music Performance Instructors

The Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) is a decentralized union, respecting the principle of “local autonomy.” This means that it’s possible for members to maintain democratic control over their Local, while drawing on the financial, legal, and bargaining strength of a national union. Simply put, the union is us – its members.

You can get involved by attending meetings, joining a committee, volunteering as a steward or executive member, or by simply providing feedback.

CUPE4163 Executive

The Executive oversees union business between general membership meetings (e.g., education, grievance reports, financial business, political action, etc.).

In addition to the President, Secretary Treasurer, and Recording Secretary, there are 3 Vice-Presidents, 3 Communications Secretaries, and 3 Members-At-Large. The President, Secretary-Treasurer, & Recording Secretary of the local are elected by the entire membership, and the Vice-Presidents,  Communications Secretaries, and  Members-At-Large are elected by the component caucuses.

There are also 6 Trustees (2 from each component) who do not sit on the Executive Board.

Officers receive a small monthly expense reimbursement, while the President and the Secretary-Treasurer for the local are paid positions.

For more information about the Executive Board (such as duties), see the “CUPE 4163 By-Laws” page.

CUPE4163 Staff
ExecutiveMembersMarch2017-March2018

President Greg Melnechuk  uniongreg@shaw.ca
Secretary Treasurer Zack Draper  jhd@uvic.ca
Recording Secretary Andria Hamill  ahamill@uvic.ca
Vice-President (Comp 1) Jane Wodlinger  jane.wodlinger@gmail.com
Vice-President (Comp 2) Steven Freeman  sfreeman@uvic.ca
Vice-President (Comp 3) Matthew Koch koch4163@gmail.com
Communications Secretary (C1) Justin Foran  jforan@uvic.ca
Communications Secretary (C2) Kayleigh Erikson  kerickso(at)uvic (dot)ca
Communications Secretary (C3) Laurel Collins  laurelcollins@gmail.com
Member-At -Large (C1) Mark Piraino m.piraino3@gmail.com
Member-At-Large (C2) Katja Gee kmg.9061@gmail.com
Member-At-Large (C3) Dave Dolff  ddolff@uvic.ca
Non Executive Member – Trustees:

Trustees (Comp 1)

 

 

Joseph Horan
Laura Teshima

Trustees (Comp 2) PhillipSchrod                   Jane VanSickle
Trustees (Comp 3) Norm Fennema
Paul MacRae

 

CUPE4163 Staff

CUPE 4163 employs two staff who take care of the Local’s Labour-Relations work as well as its day to day business.

Our Business Manager is Leann Dawson. Leann has more than 25 years of Labour-Relations experience with CUPE in varied roles. Just prior to coming to 4163, she was the CUPE National Staff,  BC University Coordinator.

email Leann:  office4163@gmail.com

We welcome new  Business Agent Melissa Pritchard.  Melissa comes to CUPE 4163 with several years of experience as Unit President of the United Steelworkers local 2009. We look forward to Melissa joining our staff, providing labour relations representation to the members of CUPE4163.

email Melissa:  office4163@gmail.com

Offices: Technology Enterprise Facility (TEF), Rooms 217 and 219

Email: office4163@gmail.com

Phone: Leann: 250 472-4778  Melissa: 250-853-3863

Please note: We prefer not to be faxed, but if you need to send one, please email us or call us first and we will arrange a number where you can fax us.

CUPE4163 staff belong to union Local 467.